Tuesday Shoesday – The Basic Shoe Wardrobe

Posted on

I firmly believe that every gal (and guy) should have a basic shoe wardrobe of staples.  I’ve taken it too far, but now, have learned how to store my shoes and boots in a well-edited, almost archival way with dustbags in clear boxes from Container Store and I’ve even gotten the reboot of the Polaroid camera and I tape a photo of the shoes on said box.  But, today is not about excess – I keep some of my designer treasures and wedding shoes to pass down to my decidedly tomboyish daughter, who will one day love them.

I also recognize the value of Saludos, Havainas, TOMS and other inexpensive but necessary summer and fall staples.

But, here’s what every gal should have in her shoes wardrobe (include those adorable Minnetonkas from yesterday’s post!):

High-heeled slingback pump.  I like a slingback better than a plain pump – and I wear my “Carolyne” by Manolo Blahnik in black for many meetings and events.  I’ve had them for 7 years.  You can find similar style in other price points on Piperlime.com and Zappos.com, of course!   You can get them from 2″ heel height to 4″.  The white satin version is a bridal favorite as well!

Photo: Courtesy Manolo Blahnik

Moving on:  everyone should have a great pair of cap-toe ballet flats.  So many to choose from!  Revolutionized by the Chanel quilted ballet flat and updated recently with Gap’s Urban flats (they fold up and come in a little baggie – love), I am loving these cap-toes from LOFT this season.  Adorable. There are no images on the web for these, so click on the hyperlink to see the four different colors!  And a way softer price point than the Lanvin’s and Miu Miu‘s that are almost identical!

Wellies:  When the weather turns rainy, cute Wellies are a must.  I wear Hunter and J. Crew has some great ones.  They are cutest with short denim skirts or cute shorts – very leg-lengthening.  Or, tuck your skinnies into them.  A must have for rain or shine!  Remember Kate Moss at Glastonbury?  She rocked those!

 

 

 

 

 

The Nude Platform Stiletto Pump:  Nothing, and I mean, nothing, looks better on legs and makes them look miles long than these babies.  You don’t have to get Louboutins.  Nine West makes a respectable one.  But it must have the platform footbed in order to be comfortable.  I wear these shockingly often with everything from jumpsuits to pencil skirts and evening cocktail dresses.  You’ll be shocked how much you love them!

 

I would also add to this list strappy gold flat sandals, Sebago or Sperry Topsider boat moccasins, Tretorn sneakers and some adorable wedge espadrilles.  Oh, and one pair of absolutely knock-out strappy high-heeled silver stilettos (what I wore to my own wedding, by Giuseppe Zanotti)!  Happy Tuesday Shoesday!

 

About lseccuro

As a mom, lifestyle expert, surfer and event planner, I love to discover the next uber-cool thing! Whether it's a shoe, a wine, a food, a photographer, a designer, a blog, a flower or a travel spot, you can find me trolling for it! I also like to blog about the kids and how running a household like this keeps me grounded. I love all things beautiful, but mostly Mr. F4 and the little ones, Ava and Leo. Things I love: sparkly anything, homecooked meals, snowy white sheets, holidays, photography, monograms, antique silver, reading everything I can get my hands on, Pilates, learning anything new, antiquing, gardening, collecting cookbooks and shoes, mixing slouchy sofas w/ sleek chairs, collecting china, the beach, Ruzzetti & Gow seashells, seersucker, Sharpies, Chanel lipgloss, counting my blessings. Drop me an email or a comment and I look forward to meeting you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 545 other followers

