New Vendor Spotlight – wowza! Maggie Austin Cakes!

Leave it to Gail Simmons (love her!) to discover a may-jah cake talent right here in the DC metro area.  I have about 3 favorite local cake designers and I am hugely discerning, so imagine my surprise, while watching the “Today” show this morning, when I saw this cake by Maggie Austin as part of the “Today Throws A Wedding Series”.  More on that later.

Just gorgeous on all fronts.  So, I Googled Ms. Austin and found her stunning, impeccable website.  She’s absolutely beautiful, a former ballerina with classical French pastry training and she’s worked for one of my faves, Charlie Trotter.   Go to the portfolio – holy moly, would you LOOK at that purple anemone cake?  Clearly, she does wedding and special occasion cakes, so brides and other partiers alike, give her a ring!  We are officially obsessed and Ms. Austin will be getting calls from Dolce very soon – we can only hope that she’ll have room for us!

Photo Credit: Maggie Austin, 2010

About lseccuro

As a mom, lifestyle expert, surfer and event planner, I love to discover the next uber-cool thing! Whether it's a shoe, a wine, a food, a photographer, a designer, a blog, a flower or a travel spot, you can find me trolling for it! I also like to blog about the kids and how running a household like this keeps me grounded. I love all things beautiful, but mostly Mr. F4 and the little ones, Ava and Leo. Things I love: sparkly anything, homecooked meals, snowy white sheets, holidays, photography, monograms, antique silver, reading everything I can get my hands on, Pilates, learning anything new, antiquing, gardening, collecting cookbooks and shoes, mixing slouchy sofas w/ sleek chairs, collecting china, the beach, Ruzzetti & Gow seashells, seersucker, Sharpies, Chanel lipgloss, counting my blessings. Drop me an email or a comment and I look forward to meeting you!

Leave a Reply

