Marvelous Monday – a few style tips that float my fancy.

Posted on

Summer party season is in full swing and whether you are a hostess, guest, bride-to-be or just follower of all things style, I wanted to share a few of my finds with you on this rainy (at least in East Hampton) Monday.  I refuse to go softly into the night that is fall, so these are really “year-round” finds that are particularly useful right now.  I have purchased and tried or worn all of these products and in full disclosure, have not been compensated to endorse any of said products.  We at F4 are our own guinea pigs and we’re happy to share!

Full disclosure:  my vanity countertop unretouched this morning!

>>>>

Hair:

I am always looking for the latest serum or heat-protector for days when I have my hair blown out or need to iron it myself without further damage, especially since I spend a lot of time in the sun, surf and chlorine.  I use Kerastase, Ted Gibson, Purology and WEN. But, I’ve been a fan of Kiehl’s for many, many years, mostly for its Creme de Corps body butter and mens’ shaving products.  I’ve used every hair line on the market and found these two products to be outstanding for creating a sleek mane in the humidity.

Kiehl’s Stylist Series Silk Straightening Cream : a distant cousin to their legendary Silk Groom, this lightweight cream is used on damp hair before blowing out.  It’s lightweight, you only need a little and it’s fragrance free without heavy waxes.  It relies heavily on soybean extract and sunflower oil to soften and protect hair.  Genius!

Next up, the Kiehl’s Silk Groom Serum – a perfect finish to your style.  Leaves hair soft and gleamy.  Concentrate it on the ends and don’t use too much.  It’s very light and keeps those strands glossy and tamed.

Lips:  EOS lip balm is the greatest. Invention.  Ever.  I order mine from Drugstore.com by the dozen. Or, order here. The spherical shape, the flavor, the long-lasting formula all excite me.  It even seems to exfoliate your lips a little bit when you apply.  I use a chubby lip gloss pencil over the EOS for a durable, sheer, colorful lip.  You’ll chuck your Chapstick after this!

Nails:  Yes, I know we did a nail post, but I have new favorite – and it’s limited addition.  I found mine at J. Crew.  FACE Stockholm nail enamel in “One Hundred Seven” is a deep iris/cyclamen/violet shade that just POPS.  Love it!  Image courtesy of We Heart This – it’s sold out on the J. Crew website, but you can get it on Face Stockholm’s website OR in many J. Crew stores.

This post is very disorganized.  But hey – it’s a rainy Monday and I am blogging from the summer house while my kids play in the basement playroom.  Forgive me!

Fragrance:  I am a  Chanel fragrance (or any fragrance) addict.  I am particular to the “Exclusifs” collection  of limited edition concoctions and have found my new scent (everyone asks what it is but I never give a straight answer, so….) in the form of “Coromandel”.  It’s a glorious, woodsy Oriental that is perfect for the colder months.  The other two fragrances that I own that harken to Coromandel are L’Artisan’s “Timbuktu” and Balmain’s “Amber Gris”.  I just don’t like to smell like anyone else.  You should give all three a whirl.  YUM.

Photo: Courtesy of Chanel

Must have SHOE:  Say goodbye to Uggs, as I have a new retro passion!  The Minnetonka Moccasin Back Zip Boot.  Yep, it’s back.  The fringe and lug sole and buttery suede look fresh and fun.  I ride my bike in these and take them on the town with white shorts and great gingham shirt or Ikat tunic.  LOVE.  In the fall, pair them with colorful skinny jeans and a white tee and schoolboy blazer!

About lseccuro

As a mom, lifestyle expert, surfer and event planner, I love to discover the next uber-cool thing! Whether it's a shoe, a wine, a food, a photographer, a designer, a blog, a flower or a travel spot, you can find me trolling for it! I also like to blog about the kids and how running a household like this keeps me grounded. I love all things beautiful, but mostly Mr. F4 and the little ones, Ava and Leo. Things I love: sparkly anything, homecooked meals, snowy white sheets, holidays, photography, monograms, antique silver, reading everything I can get my hands on, Pilates, learning anything new, antiquing, gardening, collecting cookbooks and shoes, mixing slouchy sofas w/ sleek chairs, collecting china, the beach, Ruzzetti & Gow seashells, seersucker, Sharpies, Chanel lipgloss, counting my blessings. Drop me an email or a comment and I look forward to meeting you!

One response »

  1. I need that eos lip balm. Lol good post

    Reply

Leave a Reply

